News Travel VTL

Denmark and Finland add pre-departure COVID-19 test for Singapore travellers

Two more European countries on Singapore's VTL list have added COVID-19 testing as a pre-departure requirement, with Denmark and Finland the latest pair to impose a "no test, no fly" policy, even for fully vaccinated travellers.

The global spread of the Omicron COVID-19 variant is certainly having an impact on the risk appetite of various governments when it comes to welcoming travellers from overseas, with 21 of Singapore’s 24-strong list of Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) countries now imposing pre-departure testing.


This week it’s Denmark and Finland announcing the new safeguard, in both cases adding a PCR or ART test requirement which you’ll need to complete ahead of your flight.


For arrivals in Denmark from 27th December 2021, all passengers must have:

  • PCR test conducted no more than 72 hours before arrival; or
  • An ART test conducted no more than 48 hours before arrival.
(Photo: Adrian Cuj)

Note that Denmark is using your flight arrival time, not the departure time, to determine the validity of your pre-departure test. Denmark Time is currently 7 hours behind Singapore Time.

For example, those travelling from Singapore on SQ352, which arrives in Copenhagen at 6.30am, must take their test no earlier than:

  • PCR: 6.30am Denmark Time (1.30pm Singapore Time) three days before the arrival day (e.g. test 1.30pm on Tuesday or later for a Friday morning arrival in Copenhagen).
  • ART: 6.30am Denmark Time (1.30pm Singapore Time) two days before the arrival day (e.g. test 1.30pm on Wednesday or later for a Friday morning arrival in Copenhagen).


Not everyone is required to show a pre-departure test (PDT) in order to fly from Singapore to Denmark. The following exemptions apply:

  • Children aged 14 or younger (by date of birth) do not require a PDT.
  • Resid