News Travel VTF

Singapore Public Holidays in 2023

With border restrictions now eased, make sure your 2023 annual leave booking strategy is in check!

With Singapore’s borders reopened to quarantine-free travel from all countries, confirmation of the public holiday dates for 2023 means its time to start locking in your leave days for next year, to snag long weekends for short regional overseas trips plus leave-efficient longer breaks for more adventurous vacations.

ADVERTISEMENT

There are six long weekends in 2023, where you’ll get three days off without having to take any leave whatsoever, and these can be easily extended to a 4-day break (five days in one example), for taking only a single leave day at either side.

For longer trips, you’ll only have to part with 3 days of annual leave to get 9 consecutive days off around Chinese New Year, or a 10 days off option for 4 days of leave over Christmas at the end of 2023.

Here’s how it looks.

Long weekends (no leave needed)

If you’re a fan of preserving your precious annual leave days for longer trips and you’re happy with a three or four day break for a regional jaunt, there are seven opportunities to do just that in 2023.

2023
Zero-leave 3/4-day trip options

Holiday Observed Date(s) Days for a trip
New Year’s Day 2 Jan (Mon) 3 days
Chinese New Year 23 Jan (Mon)
24 Jan (Tue)
4 days
Good Friday 7 Apr (Fri) 3 days
Labour Day
1 May (Mon) 3 days
Deepavali 13 Nov (Mon) 3 days
Christmas Day 25 Dec (Mon) 3 days
New Year’s Day
(2024)
1 Jan 2024 (Mon) 3 days
Long weekends in KL are possible again, with many options in 2023 requiring no annual leave if you pick the right dates

Extending long weekends (single leave day)

Happy with 4 or 5 consecutive days off work for taking just a single annual leave day?

ADVERTISEMENT

Here’s our rundown of eight opportunities to do just that in 2023, with an additional long weekend option in June from Hari Raya Haji falling on a Thursday (take leave on the Friday in this case).

2023
Leave-efficient 4/5-day options

Holiday Observed Date(s) Apply for leave on Days for a trip
New Year’s Day 2 Jan (Mon) 30 Dec 2022 (Fri)
or
3 Jan 2023 (Tue)
4 days
Chinese New Year 23 Jan (Mon)
24 Jan (Tue)
20 Jan (Fri)
or
25 Jan (Wed)
5 days
Good Friday 7 Apr (Fri) 6 Apr (Thu)
or
10 Apr (Mon)
4 days
Labour Day
1 May (Mon) 28 Apr (Fri)
or
2 May (Tue)
4 days
Hari Raya Haji 29 Jun (Thu) 30 Jun (Fri)
4 days
Deepavali 13 Nov (Mon) 10 Nov (Fri)
or
14 Nov (Tue)
4 days
Christmas Day 25 Dec (Mon) 22 Dec (Fri)
or
26 Dec (Tue)
4 days
New Year’s Day
(2024)
1 Jan 2024 (Mon) 29 Dec (Fri)
or
2 Jan 2024 (Tue)
4 days

The final one here takes advantage of New Year’s Day in 2024 falling on a Monday, giving you a long weekend to take advantage of at the very end of 2023 using a 2023 leave day, or by dipping in to your 2024 allowance if you prefer.

Of course you can always extend these options slightly too with an extra leave day (2 leave days in total) to make them 5-day or 6-day trips.



 


 

2 days of leave over National Day = 5 days off

Even though National Day falls on a Wednesday in 2023, which doesn’t help you have a long weekend for a single leave day, you can always take two leave days either side of this public holiday and give yourself a five-day stretch to enjoy a trip somewhere.

2023
National Day leave option

Holiday Observed Date(s) Apply for leave on Days for a trip
National Day 9 Aug (Wed) 7 Aug (Mon)
8 Aug (Tue)
or
10 Aug (Thu)
11 Aug (Fri)
5 days

3 days of leave over CNY will score you 9 days off

Interested in a longer trip in 2023?

Travelling around the Chinese New Year period is usually expensive, especially in the Asia-Pacific region, with both airlines and hotels hiking their prices around the popular holiday.

ADVERTISEMENT

Nonetheless if you can take the likely hit on cost, you’ll at least save on annual leave days, with only 3 days of leave enough to score you a full 9 days out of the office, enough to be quite adventurous with this one.

January is the sunniest and driest month of the year in Cape Town, South Africa, already quarantine-free in both directions for Singapore residents and served by Singapore Airlines

2023
Leave-efficient 9-day option

Holiday Observed Date(s) Apply for leave on Days for a trip
Chinese New Year 23 Jan (Mon)
24 Jan (Tue)
25 Jan (Wed)
26 Jan (Thu)
27 Jan (Fri)
9 days

You can also consider a longer break over the Christmas and New Year period right at the end of 2023, with this 10 days off for 4 days of leave option extending into 2024 by a single day.

2023
Leave-efficient 10-day option

Holiday Observed Date(s) Apply for leave on Days for a trip
Christmas Day
(2023)
25 Dec (Mon)   10 days
    26 Dec (Tue)
27 Dec (Wed)
28 Dec (Thu)
29 Dec (Fri)
New Year’s Day
(2024)
1 Jan 2024 (Mon)  


 


 

Summary

Don’t waste your annual leave in 2023, with several options available for stretching out a number of overseas trips next year, including a great opportunity for 9 consecutive days off with only 3 days scrubbed from your leave balance!

There are plenty of options for shorter 4- and 5-day trips too (even 3- and 4-day ones with no leave needed).

Obviously we’re assuming here that most of our readers are office-based ‘Monday to Friday’ types, so you’ll have to examine the full public holiday calendar yourself if you normally work on a different pattern of days, to identify where your personal ‘sweet spots’ lie in 2023.

Overseas travel for Singapore residents is back with a vengeance, and 2023 will hopefully be even better. (Photo: Lucas Wunderlich)

There are already hundreds of countries now offering two-way quarantine-free travel for Singapore residents, many of which are test-free in the outbound direction too.

Hopefully by 2023 the list will be even longer, including favourites like Taiwan and Japan, but at least there are a range of regional options already open including Thailand, Vietnam and Malaysia.

Wherever you’re hoping to jet off to, it’s worth locking in your annual leave now to maximise your days off, then work out where to go later based on the latest border and testing measures, now that a wide range of leisure travel options has returned.

(Cover Photo: Shutterstock)

ADVERTISEMENT

Leave a Reply