Changi Airport News Singapore Airlines

Singapore Airlines rolls out transit approval to and from all its European cities

Barcelona, Paris and Zurich are added to the list of cities SIA Group passengers can begin their journeys and transit through Changi

Transfer T3 Sign Small (SS)

Last month Singapore Airlines and Changi Airport gained regulatory approval to accept transit passengers on connecting itineraries, from an initially limited list of origin cities, which was then expanded to a much more useful 19 points by late June.

Today there’s a further extension to the list, with three more European cities now marked as eligible starting points for a total of 22 across the three SIA Group airlines.


All European cities are now approved

Effective from Wednesday 15th July 2020, passengers flying on Singapore Airlines originating in the following cities are now also eligible to transit through Changi:

  • Barcelona
  • Paris
  • Zurich

This coincides with the re-launch of Paris services by the airline from the same date, initially twice weekly ramping up to three times per week in August 2020.

Singapore Airlines is currently flying to seven of its usual 14 destinations in Europe, so these new additions mean all of the carrier’s current European network is now classified as an eligible transit origin area.

“With effect from Wednesday 15 July 2020, Singapore Airlines and SilkAir customers can transit through Singapore Changi Airport from additional points in Europe to any destination in the SIA Group network currently operated by SIA, SilkAir or Scoot.”

Singapore Airlines

That means itineraries starting in the following 22 cities are now eligible to book and transit through Changi on an SIA group booking, starting tomorrow, and subject to the immigration requirements of their final destination:

Valid Origin Points: SIA Group
(for transit through Changi)
City Airline
Australia Adelaide Kris Yellow
Brisbane Kris Yellow
Melbourne Kris Yellow
Perth TZtrans
Sydney Kris Yellow
China Chongqing Silk Bird Green
Guangzhou TZtrans
Hong Kong Kris Yellow TZtrans
Shanghai Kris Yellow
Taipei TZtrans
Denmark Copenhagen Kris Yellow
France Paris Kris Yellow
Germany Frankfurt Kris Yellow
Japan Osaka